Reklama
 
Blog | Petr Vlasák

Přehlížená hudba 2016 díl 3. – Carter Tanton

Carter Tanton nemá vlastní webovou stránku, fb profil ani twitter účet. Jeho nahrávky distribuuje Western Vinyl, což je jeden ze zdrojů strohé biografie:

„Zpěvák, multiinstrumentalista a producent, vystupoval už v 15 po barech v rodném Baltimore (Maryland) coby kamenem dohodil od hlavního města a jen chlup dál od NYC. V 17 si ho povšiml Gary E.Smith (produkce The Pixies) a po roční spolupráci se rozešli. Ale Carter nezpomalil, vydal několik EP s kapelou Tulsa. Nahrával či vystupoval s Marissou Nadler, Strand of Oaks, Lower Dens, The War on Drugs ad. V 2012 vydal u WV první kolekci písní Freeclouds (vůbec první sólové z 2005 se jmenuje Birds&Rain). Po několika letech se přestěhoval do Anglie, kde napsal veškeré písně pro poslední cd Jettison the Valley, na kterém zpívají dále rovněž Marissa Nadler či Sharon Van Etten.“

 

Změna prostředí, inspirace dávných hudebních zdrojů (R.Thompson, N.Drake či J.Cale) nebo pozorování mizejícího partnerského vztahu?

 

Carter k tomu říká:

 

¨I had just moved to England with my girlfriend where we lived in a caravan on her family’s plot of land with the M5 motorway on one side, and a horse farm on the other. To get away from the incessant low rumbling of cars, I often walked along the area’s ancient public footpaths that carve strange ways through the countryside. On those walks, my previous 30 years in America billowed and collapsed in front of me. As I stood there in the blowback, the constant push of time seemed to finally relent, and I found enough distance from it to see my past in clear broad strokes. After a few months we moved to Oxford and lived in a little attic apartment up on a hill. I spent most days watching the weather roll through the valley and writing these songs about my relationship ending. Eventually, I felt I had to come back to the states to record them.¨

 

Složil, nahrál včetně všech nástrojů i zaznamenal vše sám.

 

Úvodní  Twentynine Palms:

 

I’ve worried since the age of 5

When my daddy dies I’ll fall into crime.

 

‚Cause he’ll be stuck in picture frames

To witness whipping winds of bitter change

 

William watch over my heart.

 

Hell I’ve met the woman who

Took me rather far out of view.

 

In a way I guess it’s plain to see

The Devil bearing down on her and I makes three.

 

William watch over my heart.

Hurry on back for Spring.

 

But oh, oh, in the desert sky

I try not to look with my naked eye.

 

Covered every inch in the seventh sea

Feeling blue by Joshua Tree

 

Oh, oh, in the desert sky

Oh, oh, in the desert sky

 

I’ve worried since the age of 5

When my daddy dies all sense expires.

 

And he’ll be stuck in picture frames

Hanging on the memories of the better days.

 

William watch over my heart.

Hurry on back for Spring.

 

But oh, oh, in the desert sky

I try not to look with my naked eye.

 

Covered every inch in the seventh sea

 

But oh, oh, in the desert sky

Stripped of the fools‘ gold alibi.

 

Covered every inch of the seventh seas

Nothing blooms from Joshua Tree

 

Hush.

 

But oh, oh, in the desert sky

I try not to look with my naked eye.

 

I’ve covered every inch of the seventh seas

Feeling blue by Joshua Tree

This love’s gone cold in the record heat.

 

 

Celé album k poslechu u Bandcamp,  Spotify (včetně staršího Freeclouds) a řada písní u SoundCloud.

Na Metascore má 74, ale Mojo i Uncut dávají 80 ( + Pitchfork).

Zřídkavý dávný rozhovor a jedna rovněž dávná, ale výborná solo session, která by měla jít aspoň stahnout. V některých bilancích loňského roku chytá umístění před padesátkou (39 a 49). A jednou tu před Siskiyou dokonce už hrál a zpíval.

Reklama